My Quest To Teach

October 18, 2011

Diabetical In My Body

Filed under: Uncategorized — William Jackson @ 3:38 am

Diabetical In My Body
Psalms 86:7 (NIV) “When I am in distress,
I call to you, because you answer me.”

As I listen to my Pastor and church choir sing,
“Down In My Soul” I reflect on the challenges that
this new onset of diabetes is taking me on. The
survival rate of what I have been through as a
Black man over 45 years of age is statistically low.

First surviving a PE (pulmonary embolism) or blood
clot that traveled from my leg to my lung in
December 2006, the doctors said I should have died,
now in 2011 having survived a blood sugar level
over 700 for several weeks. The doctors said I
should either be in a diabetic coma or dead.

I survive because I believe God still has a
purpose for me. Just as He has a purpose for
all of us. The challenges that life throws
at a person can either break you, cause you to
go into depression, make you suicidal or just
cause a person to lose their mind.My determination
to these physical circumstances is to continue too,
and increase my praise and worship to God. I
refuse to give into physical challenges of my body
and continue even more to allow God to use me as
a testimony and example to his Kingdom.

The statement “everything happens for a reason”
is almost equal to, “what does not kill you makes
you stronger.” I grow stronger in the knowledge
that I’m doing good works in my community and
diabetes just increases my resolve and determination
to be more involved in my community and church.
I cannot waste time nor will I blame God, curse
the devil, look at possible
generational heredity imperfections from my parents
for diabetes, blood clots or hypertension
(high blood pressure);
all I can do is pull Jesus closer to my heart and
cry, “lead me to do the works you would have me
to do.” More of my brothers (of all races and cultures)
need to say these words and mean them.

Learning about diabetes now is like a crash course
in biology, chemistry, and psychology, it just goes
to show circumstance and situations in physicality
can teach you to appreciate life and how delicate
it can be. My Pastor (Timothy Cole, Sr.) is preaching
that God says “He (God) is the God of Abraham, Issac
and Jacob.” In reply to that I say God is the God
of William Derek Jackson and I will praise his
name within my heart and publically voice His
name where God’s name needs to be heard. As men
experience physical challenges that try to keep
them distracted from doing the job of fathers and
men, we need to be more involved with our families,
communities and churches. Fighting off that which
keeps us from doing “Good Works” in our homes,
communities, schools and churches.

Learning from the experiences of diabetes many
men do not share their experiences to be a
blessing to others. Not to bring self pity or
notoriety to themselves, but to teach others
how to prevent ill health and improve their
health as they mature. My journey through
diabetes will be a testimony to God and a
knowledge experience for myself and others. I
hope to share my triumphs with others to prevent
others from falling victim to this physical
and emotional challenge. I survived a blood
sugar level of above 600 to 700, survived loosing
over 20 pounds in several weeks, dehydration,
waning vision, physical instability and memory loss.

Lessons learned; Knowledge gained; Spirit rededicated.

I ask those that are reading this or viewing my
Youtude video if you experience some or all of
these symptoms to get medical attention soon.
Your survival and your family’s peace and happiness
may depend on your proactive energies to check your
physical well being.

Watch your diet, consistently exercise, take
time for yourself to mentally relax and refocus
on what is important in life. As my grandmother
of over 90 years old taught me that,
“Nothing beats peace for mind, body and soul.”
So my mind is on peace, my body is growing
healthy and my soul has a better relationship
with Jesus.
Video on Black Bloggers Connect
Copy and paste into new browser window
to view.
http://www.blackbloggersconnect.com/videos/34/42/diabetical-in-me

Blog at WordPress.com.

